Photo courtesy of Jordan Busson licensed under CC BY-NC 2.0. The first week after Russia invaded Crimea, there were outbreaks and protests near the surrounding areas of Ukraine. People became more united than ever to fight against Russia.

Multiple countries express support for Ukraine

0 0
Read Time1 Minute, 45 Second

Recently, the sudden Russian-Ukraine war has caused an outcry in many countries about Russia’s invasion of Ukraine. Russia’s President Vladimir Putin has shown signs of trying to overthrow the Ukrainian government, prompting multiple countries including Britain, Germany, France, and Belarus to voice their opinion toward this war. 

Britain has become one of Ukraine’s biggest supporters since the invasion began. After accusing Putin of attempting to overthrow the government in Ukraine’s capital Kyiv, Britain’s Prime Minister Boris Johnson and Ukraine’s President Volodymyr Zelensky made plans to negotiate with the Russians. Both Britain and Ukraine have emphasized the severe economic and environmental consequences that such a war would have on humanity. Additionally, Johnson has pushed sanctions against the three biggest Russian billionaires who reside in Putin’s circle of friends and five of Russia’s big banks. 

Germany at first remained neutral over the war. However, due to pressure from The North Atlantic Treaty Organization, Germany finally responded. The German government funded anti-tank weapons and defense systems for Ukraine. Although Germany refuses to send lethal weapons to Ukraine, their stance remains as an ally of Ukraine. 

France has also become a strong supporter of Ukraine and has demonstrated its support by providing humanitarian supplies. France has built humanitarian air bridges to send toward Poland to help refugees fleeing from Ukraine. “We will respond to this act of war without weakness, with cold blood, determination, and unity,” President Emmanuel Macron said. 

On the other hand, Belarus, which was once part of the Soviet Union, provided support for Russia by allowing Russian troops to enter Ukraine through its land. Belarus’s President Alexander Lukashenko included that he would use his country’s troops in the war for Russia if needed. 

Leaders from the Group of Seven (Canada, France, Germany, Japan, the United Kingdom, the U.S., and the European Union) have planned to pressure and isolate Russia’s financial system. Over 30 countries have already implemented these actions against Russia and will continue to do so until Putin withdraws. 

Average Rating

5 Star
4 Star
3 Star
2 Star
1 Star

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *